Brook named in England’s final World Cup squad as Roy misses out

Harry Brook has been named in England’s final World Cup squad, with Jason Roy missing out on selection.

The 33-year-old’s place appeared in doubt after back spasms prevented him from featuring in the series win over New Zealand.

He missed three of the four one-day internationals due to the injury and was not deemed fit enough to feature in Friday’s finale at Lord’s.

Roy’s replacement at the top of the order, Dawid Malan, scored 54, 96 and 127 to clinch his spot in the group and ensure he would be travelling to India later this month.

Brook, meanwhile, returned scores of 25, two, and 10 during the ODI series after impressing in the Hundred and England’s T20 series against New Zealand.

His explosion onto the scene in the last 18 months – though he has played only six ODIs in that time, the first of them in January – has secured him a place in the esteemed final 15.

It also means that he will now drop out of the three-match one-day series against Ireland, which starts at Headingley on Wednesday.

For Roy, it is the second year in a row he has suffered heartbreak in the run-up to a major tournament.

Last September, he was dropped from the T20 squad after a dismal run of form in that format; England then went on to win the World Cup in Australia.

“It was awful, incredibly tough to take,” he admitted earlier this month. “But I feel like I’ve had a pretty good year since.”

Though it may be difficult to fathom, his disappointment was shared earlier this week when England’s white-ball captain, Jos Buttler, commented on the frustration surrounding Roy’s absences.

Jos Buttler (PA Images)
Image: Jos Buttler (PA Images)

“The biggest frustration is for him. He wants to be fit, playing, and affecting cricket games for England,” Buttler explained.

“He’s been working hard to be fit and available, but we now have a few days to regroup – the coach, the captain, the selectors, or whatever – and just work out exactly what we need to do moving forward.”

England ODI squad for World Cup
Jos Buttler (Lancashire – captain)
Moeen Ali (Warwickshire)
Gus Atkinson (Surrey)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Harry Brook (Yorkshire)
Sam Curran (Surrey)
Liam Livingstone (Lancashire)
Dawid Malan (Yorkshire)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
Reece Topley (Surrey)
David Willey (Northamptonshire)
Mark Wood (Durham)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

England Men’s national selector, Luke Wright, said: “We have selected a squad we are confident can go to India and win the World Cup.

“We are blessed with an incredibly strong group of white-ball players which was underlined by the performances in the series win against a very good New Zealand team.

“The strength of the group has meant that we have had to make some tough decisions on world-class players with Jason Roy missing out and Harry Brook coming into the squad.”

England clinch ODI series win over New Zealand ahead of World Cup

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Highlights from England’s 100-run win over New Zealand as Dawid Malan’s hundred and Moeen Ali’s four-wicket haul clinched a 3-1 series victory

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Highlights from England’s comprehensive win over New Zealand in the third ODI as record-breaker Ben Stoke dazzled at The Kia Oval

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Highlights from England’s rain-reduced win against New Zealand in the second ODI as Liam Livingstone and Reece Topley impressed

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Watch highlights from the first ODI between England and New Zealand as Ben Stokes made his return to the side ahead of the World Cup

England World Cup fixtures

  • October 5 – New Zealand
  • October 10 – Bangladesh
  • October 15 – Afghanistan
  • October 21 – South Africa
  • October 26 – Sri Lanka
  • October 29 – India
  • November 4 – Australia
  • November 8 – Netherlands
  • November 11 – Pakistan

Watch England’s three-match ODI series against Ireland live on Sky Sports, starting with Wednesday’s opener at Headingley. Coverage begins at 12pm ahead of the first ball at 12.30pm.

Watch the Cricket World Cup live in full on Sky Sports between October 5 and November 19 with England vs New Zealand kicking off the competition in a repeat of the 2019 final.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.